top of page

Namaste (All By Myself) : Yoga in Solitude with YouTube

Okay, so I have a confession to make: though I can be a very social person, when it comes to any form of working out, I have a very anti-social streak. I, against the advice of numerous blogs and exercise experts, have never been

convinced to make a workout buddy to help motivate me and keep me company. Part of the reason I work out, in addition to fitness of course, is the freedom from stress that solitude provides. I run alone, with headphones on, to drown out distractions. I exercise at home alone, often early in the morning or night, because at these times I can be alone. I don't have to try to keep up with anyone, talk to alone, entertain anyone, or compare my progress with anyone else's. It's my time, with music for company.

Last year I suffered from an awful case of Achilles Tendinitis that forced me to lay off running for awhile. For a period, even taking walks was painful. So... what to do? I can't stay still for long and I am addicted to exercise, crazy as that sounds to some. So, I did what any sane person would do: I turned to YouTube. I ended up obsessed with yoga for a good few months and still enjoy it every now and again.

When I first considered yoga, I wavered, as I did not want to have to take a class or go to a yoga studio. That would involve people, and as I stated, that was not part of my plan. So, when I discovered YouTube Yoga Channels, it was the best of both worlds: I could do yoga, learn the poses, exercise in peace and fall on my clumsy face in the peace and quiet of my home. No judgment, no unnecessary, sweaty conversations, no instructor to correct my poses and "motivate" me; just peace and quiet, what I felt that yoga was supposed to offer anyway.

So, I decided to make a list of my very favorite yoga Youtubers who helped me through my injury period and made yoga easy and fun for me as a beginner. (Trust me, as a cardio person, it was a tricky transition to get used to all the stillness.) These channels are all wonderful, regularly updated and you can enjoy them on the go or at home.

 

"Yoga with Adriene": Okay, I'm starting with my personal favorite. Adriene is a godsend to beginning yogis like me who have a difficult time keeping a straight face and meditating while face-planting during a "Downward Facing Dog" pose. Adriene has an amazing sense of humor, is a skilled yoga

instructor and has a great way of anticipating her viewers' challenges. She has videos at a variety of ability levels and for a number of different purposes. She is a great teacher and you feel as if you are interacting with her, even through YouTube. She's the ultimate Yoga BFF, who throws up Wu-tang hand signs in between poses to keep you laughing, so that you can never take yourself too seriously. Her motto, "Find What Feels Good", definitely helps when you feel like yoga just isn't for you. She's super-relatable and makes yoga a lot less intimidating for beginners.

Boho Beautiful: Juliana and Mark's channel offers some gorgeous, super peaceful visuals, along with former gymnast and pilates/yoga instructor Juliana taking you through yoga poses along with the occasional pilates routine. The tropical backgrounds and Juliana's calming, So-Cal demeanor

(though she is from the Ukraine by way of Canada) make for a relaxing experience. Plus, I have to admit, she is totally adorable and in incredible shape. It's motivating to complete the routines if the pay-off is looking as gorgeous as her! (Your significant other will probably pause to chat for an extra long time while you do these videos.)

Tara Stiles- Tara is the owner of her own yoga studio, Strala, in NYC and, like myself, is a former ballet dancer. You can certainly tell that she has a dance background, because she is one of the most graceful yogis I've seen. Her videos span the

gambit from beginner to super-advanced and are super relaxing with solid technique. She's also a new mom and has some cool maternity yoga vids worth checking out. She's just all-around lovely to watch and learn from.

 

After watching these three channels, you might feel ready to graduate to an actual yoga studio. Or you may just feel compelled to continue your practice in your living room. However, whatever your yoga speed, these channels will have you hitting the mat more comfortable, even if you namaste at home.

bottom of page