top of page

Run, Baby, Run: How to Find Motivation for Daily Runs

As an avid runner for quite a few years, I truly enjoy my daily runs and really look forward to them. However, I go through periods where I lack the motivation to get out there and pound the pavement. There are many reasons for this lack of motivation: weather, fatigue, discouragement with lack of

progress, or just plain laziness. I do know what motivates me on days when I'd rather chill in my comfy chair with a cup of green tea or just get an extra hour of sleep. So, I decided to share what motivates me to get out there and "run like an antelope out of control" (in the words of my favorite band, Phish.

 

  • Get some fly workout gear so you can work it out in style. I am far more motivated to get out there to run when I'm wearing cool workout clothes that make me both comfortable and confident. So, get out to the store and buy yourself some good-looking sports bras, leggings that make you feel great and are breathable and some tanks that are cute and maybe even wearable when you're not working out. For the colder months, get yourself some Under Armour long sleeves with thumb notches and lightweight gloves, so that if weather ever becomes

an excuse, you are prepared. More than anything else, be sure that the clothes fit you well and highlight your assets. In my experience, if you feel that you are looking good, you'll run harder and farther. I even have a favorite Nike cropped tank and VS Pink leggings for days when I feel terrible; they instantly make me feel way better on unmotivated days.

  • Sneakers: Footwear is so important when it comes to developing a regular running habit. Go to Dick's Sporting Goods, Foot Locker, or another store that specializes in sport shoes and get properly fitted for your running shoes as if you were a kid heading back to school after summer vacation. Yes, you know your shoe size, but you would be shocked how even a half size can cause major discomfort and even unnecessary injury. (A nasty case of Achilles Tendinitis taught me this the hard way.) As soon as you begin to feel that your sneaker lack ankle or arch support you may want to retire them. A comfortable run is a happy one that you can enjoy.

  • Music: A great, motivating running playlist can be the difference between a fun run and one that feels like a chore. I have a tried and tested running playlist that works for me, but it's important to develop one that works for you based on your taste in music. For me, the music I typically listen to is actually not my best workout music: I go for pop and rap when running. I even have certain songs (ok, so Nicki Minaj and Lady Gaga come to mind) for moments when I need a little extra oomph. I, honestly, am that crazy chick who begins to borderline dance while running when certain songs come on. I tend to run to the beat and pace of the song and it definitely helps me stay on track during my three mile runs. Without my headphones I can honestly a little lost.

  • Set some manageable goals. And then, when you achieve them, set some more. I tend to start small: when I returned to running post-injury, getting to the stop sign at the end of my road without stopping was the goal. I slowly increased it and worked my way up to a 30 minute continuous run. Don't aim for three miles on day one; you'll get discouraged, feel that you've failed and quit. Instead, aim for manageable goals that you feel are only slightly out of reach. If you are motivated by stats, get a Fitbit or another activity tracker and you can more accurately track your progress and improvement from day to day.

  • Capitalize on your "prime time." Morning person, get out there when you wake up, first thing. Evening oriented? A run at dusk can be relaxing and beautiful.

  • Take rest days to avoid burn out. Your body needs a rest every now and again, both to prevent overuse injury and to allow those muscles to rest. If you are like me, the "Runner's High" (yes, it's real) will kick in around mile two and you will feel like you are invincible. Don't let your brain fool you; you are not and you are susceptible to injury if you don't get some rest every now and again. Listen to your body. It will tell you when it needs a day or two to rest. For me it's generally once a week, but every now and again it may be more frequent. That's okay. Pacing yourself and resting truly help you to become a more consistent runner.

 

So, I hope this helped to motivate you to get out there and run! For me, it's a tremendous form of stress relief and a much-needed break from the pace of my busy life. It's become one of my favorite ways to de-stress and I truly look forward to it, in the same way I look forward to a glass of wine (And doing it helps to keep me in shape... so I can afford to drink another glass!)

bottom of page